Wednesday, 29 March 2017

Tuesday, 28 March 2017

Sunday, 26 March 2017

Shipping Containers, Footscray

Oil painting of stacked shipping containers with a bridge crossing a river in the foreground and tall city buildings in the background.
I was so excited by this scene I could barely contain myself.

Oil on canvas board, 10" x 8"

Saturday, 25 March 2017

Wednesday, 22 March 2017

Steps at Parliament House, Melbourne

Oil painting of a figure standing on a wet paved area with lamp posts and steps to the right and the silhouette of a statue and palm trees behind.
Were I to frame this painting and attach it to the wall, it might accurately be described as a hung parliament.

Oil on canvas board, 8" x 10"

Tuesday, 21 March 2017

Sunday, 19 March 2017

Manna Gum and House at Stirling Estate, Pipers Creek

Oil painting of a large eucalypt near a fence, with a house surrounded by trees and hills in the distance.
I'll leave it up to you, dear viewer, to decide if this painting is well manna-ed, or simply showing bad mannas.

Oil on canvas board, 8" x 10"

Saturday, 18 March 2017

Pipers Creek Telephone Exchange

Oil painting of a small light-aqua-coloured shed surrounded by dry grass with distant rolling hills.
He who pays the piper calls the tune, but he who calls Pipers Creek pays to the tune of 50 cents a minute (depending on the caller's phone plan and whereabouts).

Oil on canvas board, 10" x 8"

Wednesday, 15 March 2017

Tuesday, 14 March 2017

Nectarine with Earthenware Jar

Oil painting of a nectarine beside a brown earthenware jar on its side.
Stone fruit and stoneware: I executed two stones with one painting.

Oil on canvas board, 4" x 6"

Monday, 13 March 2017

Moonee Ponds from Royal Park

Oil painting of tree canopies viewed from above fading to distant buildings on the horizon.
Painting can be a royally grand activity; much better than ponderously mooning about.

Oil on canvas board, 10" x 8"

Wednesday, 8 March 2017

Tuesday, 7 March 2017

Monday, 6 March 2017

Laneway off Fitzgibbon Street, Parkville

Oil painting of double storey Victorian-era buildings and a tree viewed from a laneway.
This painting depicts details from two houses: the first in the foreground and the second behind (which happens to belong to my neighbours).  I thought it best to put the house in order.

Oil on canvas board, 8" x 10"


Saturday, 4 March 2017

Dam at Rosebery Hill, Pipers Creek

Oil painting of a small body of water with trees in the middle ground and distant mountains.
I thought this scene would be easy, but it was a damn site harder than it looks.

Oil on canvas board, 10" x 8"

Thursday, 2 March 2017

Still Life with Plastic Rose

Oil painting of a white rose with two vases, a large jug and a small earthenware bottle.
Having thought of a remarkably witty caption for this painting, it promptly slipped my mind and seemingly cannot be recalled despite a lengthy effort.  I can't remember it for the life of me, still.

Oil on canvas board, 20" x 16"

Wednesday, 1 March 2017

Apple with Porcelain Vase

Oil painting of a red apple with a plain white porcelain vase.
According to the OED, to scrump is to "[s]teal (fruit) from an orchard or garden"; according to me, to have one's vase stolen is to be devastated.

Oil on canvas board, 4" x 6"