Wednesday, 30 October 2019

Tuesday, 29 October 2019

Onion with Mushroom

Still life oil painting of a brown onion beside a brown mushroom.
Mushrooms are brown, onions are too -- I suspect this is something you already knew.

Oil on canvas board, 6" x 4"

Monday, 28 October 2019

Garlic Bulb with Small Bottle

Still life oil painting of a garlic bulb beside a small glass bottle.
Garlic is whitish, bottles transparent;
Garlic is fibrous, while bottles are bald -- with no hair apparent.

Oil on canvas board, 4" x 6"

Sunday, 27 October 2019

House at Rosebery Hill, Pipers Creek

Oil painting of a house with a gabled roof and chimneys surrounded by trees and shrubs.
When I said I was going out to paint the house, I hope my parents didn't get the wrong impression.

Oil on canvas board, 16" x 12"

Tuesday, 22 October 2019

Sunday, 20 October 2019

Mounts Bay, Marengo

Landscape oil painting of coastal vegetation with splashing waves and rock pools.
When I painted this scene I thought it was Apollo Bay, but I checked with Google and it is, in fact, Mounts Bay.  Always best to be shore.

Oil on canvas board, 10" x 8"

Saturday, 19 October 2019

Pier at Port Campbell Bay

Landscape oil painting of a short pier extending from nearby limestone cliffs into a stormy sea.
I thought this scene might be easy to paint, but a-pier-ances can be deceiving.

Oil on canvas board, 10" x 8"

Thursday, 17 October 2019

Port Campbell Bay

Landscape oil painting of limestone cliffs beside the sea.
The wind was so strong I was forced to paint with one hand on the easel -- it was all I could do to keep it at bay.

Oil on canvas board, 10" x 8"

Tuesday, 15 October 2019

Wednesday, 9 October 2019

Pear Half with Porcelain Vase

Still life oil painting of a bisected pear beside a white porcelain vase.
There once was a vase and a pear,
And the pear was half here and not there--
For in twain did it crack,
If you like, 'twas pared back,
Hence the whole of the halves made a pair.

Oil on canvas board, 4" x 6"

Monday, 7 October 2019

Friday, 4 October 2019