Tuesday, 30 April 2019

West Gate Bridge from Spotswood

Landscape oil painting of a large curving bridge with distant high-rise buildings.
It's taken almost a week for me to post this painting; like this bridge, dear reader, I was keeping you in suspense.

Oil on canvas board, 10" x 8"

Sunday, 28 April 2019

Saturday, 27 April 2019

Still Life with Coffee Percolator and Pumpkins

Still life oil painting of a coffee percolator beside two pumpkins, an eggplant and a small glass ink bottle.
Deconstructed pumpkin spice latte (with eggplant and ink bottle).

Oil on canvas board, 16" x 12"

Friday, 26 April 2019

Thursday, 25 April 2019

Saturday, 20 April 2019

Devonshire Lane, Mount Macedon

Landscape oil painting of a roadway bordered by trees, partly illuminated by sunshine.
A painting jammed in before the afternoon light was scone.

Oil on canvas board, 8" x 10"

Monday, 15 April 2019

Turnip with Glass Vase

Still life oil painting of a turnip beside a tulip-shaped glass vase.
Chopin is generally considered glass act, and was especially famous for his 21 nocturnips.

Oil on canvas board, 4" x 6"

Sunday, 14 April 2019

Still Life with Apple and Onion

Still life oil painting of an apple, an onion, a blue castor oil bottle and a white vase.
I commenced painting late in the afternoon and had to race against the fading daylight -- it was still life in the fast lane.

Oil on canvas board, 8" x 10"

Thursday, 4 April 2019

Leaning Nude

Oil painting of a female figure leaning backwards with one knee raised.
Soon after completing this picture developed a cold and felt too unwell to paint for several days -- it was the start of a lean patch.

Oil on canvas board, 20" x 16"

Wednesday, 3 April 2019

Monday, 1 April 2019

Pear with Ginger Beer Bottle

Still life oil painting of a green pear beside a brown earthenware bottle.
Bottles are brown, green is this pear; the green one is fruit, the brown earthenware.

Oil on canvas board, 8" x 10"